Skip to content

Ta Da!

January 18, 2013

Pacific

I guess I had to take an 11-month vacation.
Or more accurately, a 344 day break…which, according to this cool “Date Difference Calculator” I found online is something like 8,256 hours or 495,360 minutes or 29,721,600 seconds.

I’m back now though. And just as non compos mentis as ever.

By way of a reintroduction, I’ll start with a quick update on what’s been happening over the past 8,256 hours since I posted the winner of the necklace giveaway:

1. I had a crisis of identity, on the cusp of turning 40, and decided to radically change my life. Somehow.
2. Determined to finally finish my BA, I applied to two different colleges, weighed my options, considered my financial aid packages, pored over course descriptions.
3. I turned 40. In HAWAII. It was absofuckinpositivulutely INCREDIBLE. See above.
4. I picked a college. Sent some money to them that I couldn’t get back.
5. Essentially got offered a career-making full-time job THAT VERY SAME WEEK. After I sent the money to the college. The money I couldn’t get back.
6. Fretted and agonized.
7. Decided to do both. Dove in headfirst.

The rest of actually kind of a blur. All of my classes at Prescott College are virtual so I can complete my Humanities and Creative Writing degree in the evenings and on weekends. (And/or at the crack of dawn…on lunch breaks….or at insanity o’clock [which is very very dark, by the way].)

The job, on the other hand, is not virtual. There’s an office involved, filled with real-life co-workers. I go there every weekday morning at 8, and leave each evening around 5. Sometimes I leave for lunch, most of the time I eat at my desk. I spend my days pushing pixels, tracking ads, making jpegs, tiffs, and pdfs. It’s a cool job, I love it, and like I said, it’s a career-maker in part because it’s a State job (meaning crazy-good benefits like this thing they call a “pension…” which is a new word in my personal vocabulary. I like the way it sounds).

Life looks completely different than it did 29,721,600 seconds ago.

And yet, despite my absence, there are regular viewers here at this abandoned blog, and when I noticed that recently I started to feel sorry for it. Started to miss it.

Started to think of things to say.

So I did the logical thing: I included “Write in Blog” in the syllabus for my Senior Project, making a return to this space mandatory. Lest I fail.

I don’t plan to fail.

Did I mention that I spent my 40th birthday in HAWAII??

Picture 2

One Comment leave one →
  1. hallie permalink
    January 20, 2013 4:04 pm

    wow, I think you win the prize for Most Eventful 40th year! I still have a year to go, trying to think how to make a splash, tho. HA!!

Leave a Reply

