Skip to content

Fail! A week of creative reflection + a recipe + a giveaway! (January 23-February 1)

February 1, 2012

From last Monday to today (Wednesday already??!) I’ve spent a lot of time in quiet reflection.

This is what happens to me when a creative venture fails twice. That bracelet I made that broke? I made another and that one broke too. When it happened, I had a mini tantrum. I had just about mastered the ability to put snaps on leather, to make the closure for the bracelet, and then…fail.

Round three, if I can even muster the strength, will be made with a stronger metal like sterling, bronze, or copper.

To lift my spirits again, I turned to an old faithful. I made a few pendants using my new stamps, then tinkered with rainbow patina painted carefully by hand. I like this…it’s a good reminder to dream and to keep dreaming, no matter what stumbling blocks pop up along the way.

Other things I did to lift my spirits this week:

1. Sat by a rushing river (the Rio Grande) and threw rocks in the river with Chris and Graysen.
The sun on my skin and the sound of the water rushing over the rocks was healing. Chris collected small black stones to drill and turn into pendants. The only bummer about this outing: people have trashed this bank of the river (near Diablo Canyon). Broken glass, plastic bottles, condom wrappers….yuk. There’s trash everywhere. Time to organize a cleanup crew, and go tidy up the banks of the river!

2. Went skiing. It was lovely, until I overestimated Graysen’s abilities and took him up the quad chair. One hour later, ski patrol helped him ski down without falling every two seconds. (No, he didn’t get hurt…unless you count hurt feelings when I lost my patience a little because it seemed like he was just goofing off.)

3. Experimented with random foodstuffs for dinner with no basic plan. And it worked! I made a lovely coconut lemon chicken soup that the kids adored. Here’s the recipe:
1 32 oz container broth (vegetable is what I used, if you prefer beef or chicken, those would taste great too)
2 cups water
1 T. Organic Better Than Bouillon Vegetable Base
2 lbs. boneless skinless chicken thighs, cut into bite-size pieces if you prefer (I used the full pieces then cut them in my own bowl of soup)
1 can coconut milk
3/4 cup lemon juice (4+/- large lemons)

Heat broth, water, and bouillon in a large soup pot. When boiling, add raw chicken. Let boil until chicken is cooked through. Add coconut milk and remove from heat. For the lemon juice, I peeled a very large lemon and ran it through my Breville, but you can also use a hand juicer or just buy lemon juice (which, of course, is never quite as tasty).
I was out of all veggies when I made this, so I just put chicken in it. But this soup would be delightful with some carrots, greens, onions…be creative!

4. Shot the beautiful sunset…and a stunning lenticular cloud.

5. Worked out. I signed up for a fitness class at the community college this semester, and it started on the 23rd. It’s amazing what a rush of physical activity will do for the creative spirit!

Taking a break from this daily blog helped too, and I have emerged inspired to give away the necklace I posted at the top. For a chance to win, leave a comment on this post! I’ll randomly select a winner on February 8 and announce the winner on the blog! 🙂

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle Odom permalink
    February 2, 2012 9:08 am

    Thanks for the regular dose of inspiration! I love how busy with the good things you keep yourself, Anna. Rock on! Oh, and I would love to own your beautiful necklace… pick me! ~Michelle

  2. layer permalink
    February 2, 2012 7:27 pm

    the necklace is a beauty, and i love reading your blog.

    – lauren

  3. Kamich permalink
    February 2, 2012 9:26 pm

    Enjoyed reading your story….of being overextended. I kept reading and saw the necklace; and it said dream. It’s what I love to do! I spend most of my time in Lalah Land-a great place to be according to me.
    thanks for sharing your thoughts and your art.

  4. jay permalink
    February 8, 2012 12:42 pm

    Oh! I’ve lapsed reading, am totally stressed out and overextended too…. and I miss you!
    Of course, also entering the contest. 🙂

  5. Ella permalink
    February 8, 2012 6:55 pm

    The necklace is really pretty, and I am late, but I don’t mind. Love to you and your family!
    Ella

Trackbacks

  1. All the little pieces (365 Creative, Feb 2) « Non Compos Mentis Mama
  2. Growing creativity! (365 Creative, February 3-5) « Non Compos Mentis Mama
  3. LAST CHANCE FOR THE NECKLACE GIVEAWAY! « Non Compos Mentis Mama

Leave a Reply

