Skip to content

A trip down memory lane, and thoughts about creative organization for creatives (365 Creative January 16)

January 16, 2012

I decided to tackle a massive project today.

I pulled out my zippered book filled with CD and DVD archives and started transferring everything over to my back up hard drive. Being a photographer who’s been shooting digital since about 2005, this is no small feat. I will definitely not finish this project tonight. Not even close.

Of course, this is partly due to the fact that I can’t help but scroll through the past. Can’t help but revisit moments earlier in my photography career. Moments earlier in the life of my family.

Moments like this one:

As a friend of mine said tonight, Gray looks too small to be upright!

Or this one, which I don’t recall taking but really love:

My archives are filled with snapshots. Some are blurry:

Or cropped/shot differently than I might shoot them now.

But none of that matters. What does matter is that I have a record of the years.

I can look back and see how they used to be:

Then flash forward, and compare:

Going through the vault, as it were, also gives me the opportunity to see how much my technique as a photographer has changed too, not to mention how much better my pictures are now that I have a much better camera! Yes….that does make a difference. I still like this:

And this:

But the color and clarity in these are light years better, I think. Look at the difference in the sky from then to now!

Hee hee, can you tell that last one’s a screenshot? 🙂

So it’s been fun, today, to sift through the past AND insure that my old files are safe. CDs and DVDs don’t last forever, as you know. That’s the thing about living a creative life–you always have to have one eye on the future. You have to think about nurturing your creative process, yes, but also about protecting that which you create from the ravages of time. As best you can.

I’m not under any illusions that anything is permanent, but I want to hold on to moments like this–despite how non compos mentis moments like this made me feel(!!)–for just as long as I can. 🙂

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michelle Odom permalink
    January 17, 2012 9:08 pm

    Thanks for sharing this! I enjoyed seeing these photos of your kiddos and also having the difference in the quality of the photography pointed out, too! Have a great night, Ana!

Leave a Reply

