Skip to content

Winter drags….

March 8, 2011

According to the news just now, gas prices have now reached the levels we were seeing back in the fall of 2008, yet the price per barrel of oil isn’t as high.

This apparently means that gas prices are going to keep climbing, making travel prohibitive and raising the cost of food (and a host of other things).

I’d say this is a perfect time to start a homestead.

There is fresh snow on the ground as I write this, and I’m sitting close to a little space heater trying to keep warm. I have shockingly low blood pressure, and am typically pretty cold, which is why I’m not a fan of winter. It’s difficult, bordering on impossible, for me to warm up without an active outside heat source.

But despite the cold temps, I know that gardening days are just around the corner. I now have most of what we’ll need to start the many seeds I recently picked up. I went rather crazy, actually, over the organic seed display at our local co-op. I now have a small brown bag bursting with packets of tomatoes, greens, herbs, flowers, cucumbers, beans, broccoli, and melons. I plan to start 5 varieties of tomato, 2 of watermelon and cucumber, and several different types of greens including chard, kale, and cabbage. We also redesigned the garden entirely–something I half expected we’d do. We’re going to site it differently on the property, and have expanded our planned growing space from 125 square feet to 192…and counting.

But before we start phase 1 of our plan to become increasingly more self-sufficient, we’re going on one last little road trip–spike in gas prices be damned. On Thursday, barring any further illness (Graysen has just recovered from some mystery feverish affliction) the kids and I will pack up the car and drive to Phoenix to visit family. My grandmother, who is now in her 80s, hasn’t seen the kids since 2006 so it’s about time we paid her a visit. We also have some cousins to see and some sunshine to soak up. A nice reprieve from what feels like an endless winter.

Then we’ll be back home and shifting into high gear with the garden plans. The chicks are arriving the first week of April so there’s much to be done!! More non compos mentis fun is on the horizon.

I can’t wait.

 

 

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 3:26 pm

    It sounds like you’re in anticipation mode: I love it during those last days of winter when you can look forward to getting going again. Sounds like a busy schedule ahead.

Leave a Reply

