Skip to content

Life stirs…

April 19, 2010

One of the coldest and snowiest winters in memory has come to a close, and though it could conceivably still snow a bit (it’s been known to snow on my birthday at the end of April!) the air has warmed enough to start this year’s garden.

Last weekend, Mira and I turned the soil in last year’s raised beds, re-set the drip lines, and planted peas, beans, spinach, kale, broccoli, and three kinds of onions. Since then, I’ve been watering by hand every morning.

When I crouched over the soil with the watering can yesterday, I saw the tiniest little greens lifting their heads to the sun. There’s just something so thrilling about seeing life spring up in soil that, two months earlier, was frozen solid!

And so, Garden2010 has begun. Last year, Mira and I set up a square-foot garden, and it worked beautifully. This year, I seeded the earth along my drip lines. We’ll see how that goes. There are many more plants to start and prep–haven’t even gotten around to starting my warm weather stuff yet.

To be continued.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

