Skip to content

Exit Stage Right

November 25, 2009

This magpie tried to elude my lens one apres ski afternoon a couple of winters ago. I caught him though, and called the print “Exit Stage Right.”

Since Friday the 13th, I’ve felt like exiting. Stage right or left, don’t care which. Up down inside outside…I’ve been tossed and turned by the universe. Barely able to come up for a breath.
Tumbleweeds kicked into full gear, and I very quickly became chained to my laptop to make design sense of 48 blank pages.
My Friday food shooting gig was suddenly canceled indefinitely due to lack of funds.
A friend of mine from high school passed away suddenly.

Along the way, other stuff started piling up….
Chiara needs glasses (and we don’t have vision insurance).
My car started vibrating at about 60 mph on the highway, and now needs about $700 of work on the shocks and struts.
Chris’s car needs about $300 of work so that he can once again have heat.
The mortgage is overdue. Again.

Right now, I am sitting near a gentle fire, watching the moon through the living room curtains begin its descent through the blackened sky. All is quiet, the kids asleep. I want to write…I haven’t worked on my NaNoWriMo novel in two weeks or so, and am woefully behind.

But my wrist burns from so many days of solid designing without a break.

I need to find my center again. Need to stop looking around for that exit.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 4:24 pm

    It’s neverending sometimes, the requirements and unpleasant surprises and pains of this grown-up life, isn’t it?
    I’m thinking about you. Soon, I say we pack up cameras and thermoses of coffee & baileys (or something) and go on a little outing sans children and forget daily responsibilties for a few hours. We can take J’s car; you never know when mine might blow something or the other.

    • ana june permalink
      November 29, 2009 5:14 pm

      Oh yes, let’s do this SOON. Can you ever take a weekday?? What a blast that would be.
      I also propose we all troop down to White Sands sometime early next year! That would be such an amazing mood-lifter, with infinite photo possibilities. 🙂

  2. December 1, 2009 4:23 am

    Weekdays are almost impossible. I have zero time off, unfortunately. I need to figure out how to re-work, well…work.
    How would a Sunday be?

    Yes to White Sands. I’ve never been and I want to do the whole tourist sledding thing.

Trackbacks

  1. How my day was saved by a Zombie, and a long overdue THANKS. « Non Compos Mentis Mama

Leave a Reply

