Skip to content

Write, Dammit!

October 28, 2009

Once again, I am facing a daunting admonishment on my to do list.
WRITE DAMMIT. Just…write.

So, of course, I log on to Facebook. Check CNN for breaking news that I will ultimately care nothing about. Remember that invoice I have to send out by noon. Smack myself upside the head with a reminder about ordering prints for a client.

I muse a little about ordering business cards, and what sort of photo specials to offer new clients.

I think about Tumbleweeds coming up once again. Another 44+ pages to lay out and tweak in a couple of frenetic days. Oh yeah…I have three ads to design right. Now.

I stare for awhile outside, where the snowfall is subsiding. I’m sitting here at Flying Star, done with my coffee, nursing my ice water, wondering what sort of magazines are lurking on the rack to my right.

I will not look.

I will write.

So…I pull one of the five books I brought with me out of my bag. Split it open to page one and read….this:

“The way I see it, you either need to break through in your writing–say what you really need to say–or…. as a matter of fact, take a gun with you next time you go to a cafe to write. If you don’t connect in your writing that day, just shoot yourself. Vague writing on Monday–off with the little toe. Tuesday, no better–the big toe. Get the idea?”

The book is Long Quiet Highway, by Natalie Goldberg.

This is the book that just made me smile, made me write this post, and will now make me take that dratted to do reminder to heart absolutely.

Because, you see, it’s Wednesday. And I’m trying to write in a cafe…

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Bettina Lancaster permalink
    October 28, 2009 6:15 pm

    dear Ana,
    Was feeling blue this morning…going to your site reminds me of all the things I love about being a mama…and why I get sid that they are growing up…I really miss rollicking games of Hot Wheels down the hall!
    love seeing what you write,
    thanks for being the creative, honest mama you are,
    Bettina

    • ana june permalink
      October 31, 2009 6:44 pm

      Thank you Bettina. 🙂 I’m glad these words and pictures could help lift the blueness of your morning. xo, Ana

  2. hallie permalink
    October 30, 2009 2:29 am

    hahahah! i’m re-reading ‘long quiet highway’ too, how funny.

    it’s so hard to make an appointment with the muse and get the wild mind of which she speaks. for me. i mean, the muse never arrives when it’s convenient – it’s at four in the morning when you’re trying to sleep or you’re juggling three other things you are supposed to be doing and have all this material in your head all of a sudden, or …

    it’s never convenient. but yes, writing. i suppose we just have to do it. the world won’t wait for us.

    • ana june permalink
      October 31, 2009 6:45 pm

      “The world won’t wait for us…”
      Ah, wiser words were never spoken, methinks. Good to see you Hallie! xox

Leave a Reply

