Skip to content

On Fridays, I shoot food

October 24, 2009

FoodMontage

In the few years I’ve been a photographer, I’ve shot so many things. I followed a motorcycle team (or tried to) around the Baja desert during the famous Baja 1000…crouched down in the press pen at the feet of Barack Obama, during a campaign stop in Espanola…wandered through the old NM State Pen, taking pictures of the decay within the block walls that enclosed one of the worst prison riots in history….And many more things besides.

It’s always an adventure…you never quite know what sort of shots you’ll get. The sun could be at precisely the wrong angle. The subject you need to shoot could be backlit. If you’re photographing children, they might be cranky and uncooperative.

Photography takes patience. When Chris and I went down to Baja, for instance, to shoot the race last year, we spent much of that day looking for, rather than photographing, the racers. One little turnaround in the desert got us lost and we didn’t catch up with our riders until after nightfall. This obviously posed many problems for us as photographers!

Now, I shoot food every Friday for a website, called My Healing Kitchen, that should go live in the next couple of weeks. Working with a chef, I shoot roughly ten dishes per week plus sundry other things like food prep and individual “healing ingredients.” It’s a blast, with the added benefit of tasting all the deliciousness! I’m learning tons about how to pose food, though this is not the same as most food photography nowadays. All of the food I shoot is edible, for instance. We don’t add soap to drinks to make bubbles or use colored Crisco for ice cream.

I’ve been doing this since the end of August, now, and am excited for the site to go live soon. I’ll post a link when it’s up and running!

Leave a Reply

